The Transactional model or communication


My editorial cartoon is related to miscommunication issues we all tend to have sometimes, especially via text/ email. In chapter one we learn that there is a transactional model of communication where both parties in a communication exchange act as both the sender and the receiver simultaneously. “The Transactional Model of Communication adds to the Linear Model by suggesting that both parties in a communication exchange act as both sender and receiver simultaneously, encoding and decoding messages to and from each other at the same time.” 

This relates to me in my workplace because communication has to go both ways. For example, when sending emails to people in my workplace I have to CC myself and other people to make sure that they received my email. For example, when I CC myself I get the notification that my message was “read”. It is important that both people in communication are actively participating in making the communication as smooth as possible.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started